Sturgis crowns two champions at State A Wrestling; Brandon Valley captures team title

Gary MatthewsFebruary 27, 2021Local
courtesy photoState A Wrestling Action.

RAPID CITY, S.D. – The Sturgis Scoopers crowned two champions Saturday night at the State A Wrestling Tournament.

Brothers Wren and Reese Jacobs won their respective weight classes to bring home first place hardware.

Wren Jacobs was crowned champion at 160 with an overtime victory over Isaac Klinkhammer of Brandon Valley.

Klinkhammer, who was undefeated coming into the championship match, was nursing a hurt knee, and it clearly showed as Jacobs got the hard-fought 4-2 win in overtime.

Reese won his 170 pound title with a 5-3 decision over Lexan Thorson of Watertown. Reese ends the season undefeated.

Other Scoopers in consolation matches Saturday:

At 106, Korbin Osborn, in the fifth place place match, lost a 12-4 battle to Nolan Miles of Brookings. Osborn brough home sixth place.

At 126, Logan DeSersa won fifth place with a close, 9-8 decision win over Joey Christansen of Beresford/Alcester-Hudson.

At 132, Kelton Olson won third place as he defeated Kahlor Hindman of Pierre in a 5-3 decison.

At 138, Perry Ketelson brought home sixth place after a loss for fifth to Carter Doney of Rapid City Stevens.

Rapid City Stevens crowned two champions Saturday night. Logan Graf remained undefeated at 120 with a win over Jordon Oehme of Brandon Valley. At 152, Riley Benson took home first place with 14-12 decision over Ben Althoff of Watertown.

Rapid City Central crowned one champion – Cael Larson ends the year undefeated with a first place win over Beau Beavers of Sioux Fall O’Gorman.

In the team standings, Brandon Valley was the team champion, finishing with 184 points. Rapid City Stevens was second with 161.5 and Pierre was third with 144. Rounding out the top five were Watertown in fourth  and Harrisburg in fifth. Sturgis finished in sixth place with 113.5 points. Rapid City Central finished 12th.

Other area placing athletes included:

At 113, Jack Schoenhard of Stevens dropped the championship match to Quincy Hulverson – the top seeded wrestler from Tea Area.

At 195, Ryan Brink of Stevens was runner up, as he dropped his championship match to top seed Luke Rasmussen of Brookings. Rasmussen wraps up the year undefeated.

Josh Hoffman of Spearfish, who placed third at 113 with a 9-4 decision over Carter Ratcliffe of Harrisburg.

Bailey Badwound, who battled his way to the consolation championship, lost a tough 2-1 decison to Logan Serck of Beresford/Alcester-Hudson to bring home fourth.

At 160, Tyler Voorhees placed fourth after a loss to Tyson Degen of Mitchell in the consolation Championship.

Our coverage of the State A Wrestling tournament is brought to you by:

  1. Casteel Auction & Real Estate
  2. Lynn’s Dakotamart
  3. Northern Hills Eyecare
  4. Uncle Louie’s Diner
  5. Loftus Dental in Sturgis
  6. Eddie Heisinger American Family Insurance
  7. Kwik Mart in Sturgis
  8. Sturgis Chiropractic
  9. Richter Tire & Exhaust
  10. Brian Ortlieb, your Farm Bureau agent
  11. Northern Hills Federal Credit Union
  12. Tom’s T’s
  13. Jake’s Collision Repair of Sturgis and Spearfish
  14. Rockingtree Floral & Garden Center
  15. Flex Fitness
  16. Jacob’s Auto Repair
  17. Eric Fowler State Farm Insurance